Kevin Hays
New Day
New day  by Kevin  Hays cover

buy CD
buy Download iTunes
buy Download (other formats)

Track List: listen

Run to the Sun (instrumental version) - 4:48
New Day - 5:25
Trudger's Paradise - 5:51
Milton - 6:35
The Sun Goes Down - 4:23
Kurtish - 6:51
All I Have - 5:59
Sugar Man - 3:44
Waltz for Wollesen - 3:28
Highwayman - 5:41
Time Waits - 5:43
Run to the Sun (vocal version) - 3:30


Kevin Hays - piano, fender rhodes, wurlitzer, vocals
Gregoire Maret - harmonica
Tony Scherr - electric, acoustic guitar
Rob Jost - acoustic - electric bass
Greg Joseph - drums, percussion

It has been some time since Kevin Hays has delivered a new recording as a leader. The hiatus has provided the celebrated pianist and composer ample time to further his own craft of songwriting and performing, his main vehicle being his New Day Trio, featuring bassist Rob Jost and drummer Greg Joseph, musicians well versed in rock and folk as well as the jazz tradition. One tendency that Hays has more recently been relying on is the increasing use of his voice. This element has lent a more tuneful bent to his music, both vocal and instrumental. The focus on songwriting has led to a certain amplification of singer as songwriter and on his new recording, New Day, Hays enlisted the great Tony Scherr on guitar and the equally wonderful Gregoire Maret on chromatic harmonica.


Kevin Hays News

Additional Releases by
Kevin Hays