Scott Colley
 Empire by Scott Colley cover

buy CD
buy Download iTunes

Track List: listen

For Sophia - 05:15
5:30 AM - 07:19
Speculation - 06:43
Tomorrowland - 03:19
Now what? - 06:11
Gut - 04:04
Five-two - 06:08
Five-two.2 - 02:01
January - 04:49
The gettin place - 08:18


Scott Colley - acoustic bass
Ralph Alessi - trumpet
Brian Blade - drums
Bill Frisell - guitar - electric
Craig Taborn - piano

With “Empire” (the second albumColley records for CAM Jazz, after the success of his “Architect of the SilentMoment”), Colley approaches the highest peak of his production. The narrative sense, the poetic language, the common breadth bestowed upon the essence of his art, are what make this album a fascinating work, and in which a wealth of nuances is fully performed.
Accomplice in one of the best line-ups imaginable today, Colley enhances the all-absorbing aesthetic that Bill Frisell brings out with his guitar, all the magic of that instrument, giving melodic lines to the intense voice of Ralph Alessi, and knowing how to make full use of Craig Taborn’s piano and Brian Blade’s genius—a drummer able to transform into gold all the music with which he comes into contact.



Scott Colley News

Additional Releases by
Scott Colley