Federico Britos
 Voyage by Federico Britos cover

buy CD
buy Download iTunes

Track List: listen

Vivian - 5:00
After You\'ve Gone - 5:52
Vivian Flavia De Las Mercedes - 5:51
Moon Glow - 8:00
Tomatito y Federico - 6:41
Capullito De Aleli - 6:23
Las Vegas Station - 4:18
Lluvia De Colores - 4:19
Avalon - 3:52
A Las Cuatro De La Manana - 4:34
OK Paganini - 3:57
Oriente - 4:23
Micro Suite Cubana - 5:10


Federico Britos - guitar
Tomatito - guitar
Bucky Pizzarelli - guitar
Kenny Barron - piano
Michael Camilo - piano
Antonio Adolfo - piano
Israel ""Cachao"" Lopez - acoustic bass
Giovanni Hidalgo - conga

Imagine a violinist, born in South America, equally adept at playing classical, jazz, Latin idioms and music for films; a musician with a sound that is at home in a symphony hall or on 52nd Street; an artist who has worked with a staggering array of far-flung superstars, such as Duke Ellington, Astor Piazzolla, Cachao, Bebo Valdes, and Charlie Haden. It would be hard to think that such a musician exists but he does! The legendary Uruguayan-born/Florida-based violinist Federico Britos has had an unbelievably prolific career for fifty years, and Voyage, his debut Sunnyside release, is a
star-studded celebration of that five-decade brilliance, which shows no sign of dimming any time soon.
With the ebullient string arrangements by Sunnyside labelmate Carlos Franzetti, Britos is backed by an international, stellar cast including Cuban drummers Francisco Mela and Ignacio Berroa; Spanish and American guitarists Tomatito and Bucky Pizzarelli, Brazilian, Dominican and American pianists Antonio Adolfo, Michel Camilo and Kenny Barron, and Puerto Rican bassist Eddie Gomez and conguero Giovanni Hidalgo.


Excellent review from Ned Sublette in the Nov. 2010 issue of DownBeat.

Ned Sublette, - November 2010 read the full article


Federico Britos News

Additional Releases by
Federico Britos