Mike Holober
Quake by Mike Holober cover

buy CD
buy Download iTunes
buy Download (other formats)

Track List: listen

Quake - 9:43
Twist & Turn - 7:44
Roc & A Soft Place - 11:23
Here Comes The Sun - 9:23
Note To Self - 9:59
Thrushes - 9:53
Ruby Tuesday - 13:04


Mike Holober - piano, fiddle
Dave Pietro - saxophone
Jon Gordon - saxophone
Tim Ries - saxophone
Charles Pillow - saxophone
Steve Kenyon - saxophone
Tony Kadlek - trumpet
Craig Johnson - trumpet
Scott Wendholt - trumpet
Joe Magnarelli - trumpet
Bruce Eidem - trombone
Mark Patterson - trombone
Pete McGuinness - trombone
Nate Durham - trombone
John Hebert - acoustic bass
John Riley - drums

An imaginative pianist and unique composer, Mike Holober is emerging as one of the freshest voices in jazz. His skills as a composer have been acknowledged by the receipt of the prestigeous MacDowell Fellowships in 2003 and 2004. International credits include a recent tour as guest composer, conductor and soloist with the world renowned Stockholm Jazz Orchestra. His compositions are regularly programmed by the BBC Big Band in London and the R.I.A.S. Big Band in Berlin. Quake is his first release on Sunnyside.


"Like all of Holober's charts, the journey, rather than the destination, provides the best rewards." - Very nice review from Kirk Silsbee in the April 2009 issue of DownBeat.

Kirk Silsbee, DOWNBEAT - April 2009 read the full article

John Murph's DownBeat Profile from June 2009!

John Murph, DOWNBEAT - June 2009 read the full article

Nice review in the May 2009 JazzTimes.

Perry Tannenbaum, JazzTimes - May 2009 read the full article


Mike Holober News

Additional Releases by
Mike Holober