Liz McComb
The Spirit Of New Orleans
The Spirit Of New Orleans by Liz McComb cover

buy CD
buy Download iTunes

Track List: listen

Over My Head - 3:39
Just A Closer Walk With Thee - 4:50
The Big Mess - 3:45
Old Man River - 4:53
We Are More - 5:16
Broken Heart - 5:58
Strange Things Are Happening Every Day - 3:08
Happy Working For The Lord - 2:31
I Know It Was The Blood - 3:09
You've Got To Move - 3:56
Ain't No Grave - 5:05
30 Pieces Of Silver - 6:08


Liz McComb - vocals
Kirk Joseph - tuba
Ben Singleton - trombone
Bernard Johnson - drums
Herlin Riley - drums
Brian Murray - trumpet
Donald Ramsey - acoustic bass
Jamba - guitar
Byron Johnson - organ
Alfred "Uganda" Roberts - percussion
Willie Tee - piano

Buoyed by her band, Liz McComb's mature and moving contralto illuminates the CD砇s twelve, mostly traditional tracks with a secular and sacred swing that is revolutionary in the way it sounds natural.
She could not have asked for a more finessed and formidable lineup of Crescent City sidemen including: Tuba virtuoso Kirk Joseph, trombonist Ben Singleton, the percussively profound drummers Bernard Johnson and Herlin Riley, the latter, a mainstay in Ahmad Jamal's and Wynton Marsalis砇s bands for many years, trumpeter Brian Murray, bassist Donald Ramsey, guitarist Jamba, organist Byron Johnson, percussionist Alfred “Uganda” Roberts, and the late Meters pianist Willie Tee.


Liz McComb News

Additional Releases by
Liz McComb